Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

The One Where He Stands Guard August 13, 2011

Filed under: everyday life,mama of boys,Matthew — Elizabeth @ 3:04 PM

Usually Jason and I take turns on the weekend days sleeping in, and today was my turn.  Aside from the actual extra sleep, my favorite part about having a turn is being able to wake up slowly and not have to immediately get out of bed.  I love laying there for awhile and listening to my family downstairs.

This morning as I was waking up, I heard the boys coming upstairs to get dressed.  All of our bedrooms are right there together at the end of our hallway, so I heard everything that was happening.

I think Isaac must have been standing in my doorway (because I later noticed a Thomas the Tank Engine there creepily watching me sleep) because I heard Matthew say:

Don’t you bodda MY mommy.  She sleeping.

When I looked in the doorway, Isaac was gone and Matthew was marching back down the hall, purposefully with his head held high.

My tiny defender.

 

6 Responses to “The One Where He Stands Guard”

  1. Lori Says:

    I heart this!

  2. christine m tomberlin Says:

    These boys are just way too cute.

  3. Jenny Says:

    I love getting to watch your children grow up through your blog, such a precious moment.

  4. Tracy S Says:

    How sweet is that!! You are a loved and protected mommy!

  5. Melissa Says:

    That is so sweet! And you’ve got it pretty good there – pretty sure most kids just go ahead and wake up mama. At least mind do! LOL

  6. Sleeping in is glorious, and I know what you mean about being able to listen to the goings-on outside. Too funny.


Leave a Reply

