Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Color Me Crafty August 30, 2011

Filed under: everyday life — Elizabeth @ 1:02 PM

The boys have been really into drawing lately.  Isaac more than Matthew.  Matthew’s thing is that he dumps every crayon we own onto the ground and he rolls on them, steps on them, rubs them, and sorts them.  Every once in a while, I will ask him what he’s doing and he will draw for a few seconds and then go back to reveling in the mess.  On the inside it makes me crazy because I don’t understand it, but I try to keep my mouth shut.  Meanwhile, Isaac draws the exact same picture over and over and over again on 50 pieces of paper, demanding that we keep each and every one of them.  It’s a bit “Jack Nicholson in The Shining, All Work and No Play Makes Jack a Dull Boy” kind of thing, but to each his own.  By the way, the picture that he repeats over and over is him and his Silky.  Then he writes various forms of his name and Silky’s name.  Sometimes he draws our whole family.  One day he drew a large “NB” on a piece of paper and told me it stood for NOTEBOOK.  But that’s the extent of his repertoire.

So yesterday I started picking up all of the broken crayons on the floor and told the boys to be more careful because I was throwing away the broken crayons.  Then I remembered hearing how you can melt old crayons.  Within minutes a friend had posted on Facebook that Toys R Us had 24 packs of Crayolas on sale for a quarter each.

So we loaded up and went to Toys R Us where I spent a whopping $3 plus tax on some new crayons:

Then we went to Michael’s and I picked up 2 silicone baking trays–one in the shape of stars, one in the shape of hearts.  I found them pretty pricey at $9.99, but I used the weekly 40% off one item coupon and figured I could use these for holidays and other things in the future so it was worth the investment.

When we got home, the boys ate lunch and settled in for quiet movie time while I got to work.  I decided to just melt all of the old crayons and let the boys start over with nice pointy ones.  So I peeled them all (BORING!).  Then I started deciding what colors I wanted to melt together.  I tried to coordinate:

Then I baked both trays at 250 degrees (I had to put them on a cookie sheet because the silicone ones are so floppy).  It didn’t take long.  I just watched until everything looked totally liquified.  I didn’t stir it at all, because I didn’t want each one to be a uniform color.  Once everything was melted to liquid, I transferred the trays directly into the freezer.

They hardened pretty quickly, and right when I removed them from the freezer, I popped them out of the molds.  This wasn’t quite as easy as it sounds.  I basically had to turn the mold inside out to pop the crayon out (which was easier with the hearts than with the stars).  I was scared I was going to break the crayons, but I think it helped that they were frozen.

This was our final result, which I LOVE!!!!

So what did the boys think?  Well, Isaac thought they looked neat, but once he saw the new pointy crayons, he went right for those.  Matthew loved the new crayons, but he reverted quickly to his old ways and just sat at the table holding them, rubbing them, stacking them, counting them, and coloring a small line every few minutes.

As for me, I think they are adorable and I sat and colored 3 pages which was actually kind of therapeutic.  I think they might even make good party favors for in the future.  After all, I have 12 brand new boxes of Crayolas to put to use somehow……

 

12 Responses to “Color Me Crafty”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Oooh… I like this idea. This would make an excellent stocking stuffer for Leah this Christmas. Thanks for sharing your process!

  2. Yvonne Says:

    I think this is awesome! And I really like the idea of a party favor/stocking stuffer/or birthday gift for kids. Thanks for sharing!

  3. deb jacobs Says:

    i have wanted to try that, and give as gifts to people with kids. i actually used to make jewelry that way, putting in plastic beads in pretty color combinations, and when cooled i glued a pin back to them.

  4. Melissa Says:

    Well, that sounds like a fun (and easy, which is my requirement) craft!

  5. Christine Says:

    I love this sort of stuff!!! They would also make great halloween/valentine’s day treats if you need those sort of things (we do). And they aren’t candy! Double win!

  6. Jaime scott Says:

    Well,i love them and now I want to make some!!

  7. 25 cents for 24 Crayola crayons?!! That’s awesome. And I totally love this craft idea!! I love your boys’ fairly benign reaction to the whole endeavour. Now I’m going to be on the lookout for silicone shape trays…

  8. Jenny Says:

    Ok, the cat is out of the bag, you can stop saying you’re not crafty my dear, b/c that project was totally crafty. Love the different ways the boys color, Jack hates any type of art project he has no patience for it where Kylynn would literally spend every minute of everyday coloring.

    How is the school year going? I assume you’ve been busy, I’ve missed you!

  9. haley Says:

    instead of peeling them…try using a serrated knife to slice the paper on the crayon longways….from point to flat end. makes it much faster… 🙂

  10. Rachel Says:

    That is a really great idea!

  11. Min Says:

    What a fantastic idea!! I even have the silicone bake trays already… hmmmm… Thanks for sharing the idea. 🙂

  12. Elizabeth Says:

    My mom actually did this back in the Days of Yore when I was a young-un. I love the idea & your results are beautiful! You go, crafty mom!


Leave a Reply

