Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday August 31, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 10:18 AM

  • So have you noticed that it’s been getting darker earlier every night?  Like much earlier!  So here’s my quandary:  why do we have to do the whole “spring forward, fall back” thing if all of this really happens on its own.  I’ve never understood changing your clocks twice a year.  Do we do it just so we can remember to change the batteries in our smoke alarm??  And isn’t it true that some states don’t even participate in all this craziness?  This is one of those things that if I think about it too long, I start to get panicky.
  • I’ve always known I’ve had the best husband.  There are many reasons I know this, but here’s one that will prove it.  So our house was built in the ’60s and the bathrooms are still original.  Which means lots of tile.  Lots and lots of green and yellow tile.  It’s all in good shape and I kind of think it’s charming, however, I can’t ever seem to get the grout between the tile in our shower completely clean.  I was complaining about this to Jason, because truly romantic pillow talk must contain at least one reference to dirty grout.  When the boys and I came home from the beach, I found a sparkling shower that Jason had attacked with bleach-infused Tilex and an old toothbrush.  I don’t want to think about how many brain cells he killed breathing in those fumes in our stalled shower, but I love him for it.
  • Do y’all like the show “Design Star” on HGTV?  It’s one of my favorite summer shows.  One reason is because I love design shows and I love competition shows.  The other reason is the gratuitous screen time given to David Bromstad (be still my heart).  Anywhooo, I was watching the show one day while the boys were supposed to be napping.  Isaac snuck downstairs and charmed me into letting him stay up and there were about 15 minutes left in the show.  I told him that he had to lay with me quietly until the show was over, which he agreed to.  So as we were laying there, this contestant came on the screen:

photo credit

Isaac sat up immediately and shrieked, “He looks just like Grandpa Pete!!!!”.  Which is odd because this is Grandpa Pete:

  • We had some friends over a few nights ago and somehow we got on the subject of “Saved by the Bell”.  At the first mention of Jesse Spano, John and I both immediately recalled the infamous “drug” episode.  We immediately pulled up the clip on YouTube, which will heretofore be referred to as “The Jesse Spano I’m So Excited Caffeine Pill Freakout”.  For your enjoyment….

I’m not sure what is funnier–the ridiculous acting or the fact that the dangerous drugs that Jesse Spano got “addicted to” were actually caffeine pills.  Scary stuff, right there.  If the message they are sending is true, then I expect an intervention regarding my iced coffee usage at any time.  Maybe I should start practicing my freakout scene.  Here goes:

“No, Jason, I NEED my iced coffee.  I have to vacuum!!  I have to teach water aerobics!!  I have to make lunches and the kids both have “My Family” projects due tomorrow!!”  Then I will sob and shriek as I hysterically dance and sing “Hey Ya!”.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.


 

11 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Beth Says:

    Just a note for your grout. If it is white, you can use those clorox bleach pens ( do they still make those?) and let it sit while you clean the rest if the room. Just rinse with hot water when yu are done! Works like a charm

  2. I love the Grandpa Pete comment. That is just too funny!

  3. Renee Says:

    Just a couple weeks ago, a friend and I were discussing Design Star and our love for David Bromstad.

  4. tina Says:

    OMG, Isaac is just WAY.TOO.MUCH. for me!!! I’m literally ROTFLOL!

    And…that is one of my all time favorite scenes from one of my all time favorite shows. Once in a while, I’ll just burst out into, “I’m so excited! I’m so excited! I’m so….SCARED!” 😀

  5. deb jacobs Says:

    is that the same girl who was in that horrible movie about a stripper?

  6. Sue Says:

    indiana and arizona – no daylight savings. i went to college in indiana and my grandpa lived in arizona – couldn’t keep all times straight then…still can’t now. start the petition to end it…and i’ll sign it!!

    your husband truly is the best!! i want to hug him for you. (can he please give my husband a call an explain to him how easy it can be to make a wife happy?!?)

    thanks for the saved by the bell clip…jesse looks EXACTLY like damon’s cousin’s wife (bow in hair and all) – that scared me. 🙂

  7. Lori Says:

    How could I have forgotten that it was caffeine pills??? I would have guessed diet pills. Oh my… I’m in some serious trouble myself!! Of course, I have a few glasses of wine to counter balance all the caffeine a lot of times. Does that make it not a problem?? 🙂

    I love that Isaac thinks that contestant looks like Grandpa Pete – I just love it!

  8. Kelly Says:

    I may or may not have an inappropriate crush on your husband.

  9. Melissa Says:

    So funny – not seeing too much resemblance to Grandpa Pete. I love Design Star too!

  10. Rachel Hunt Says:

    That Grandpa Pete comment is hilarious! My 2-year-old once saw Montel Williams on tv and yelled, “Dada!” which is funny since my husband is Caucasian with brown hair and no facial hair :S Kids are crazy!

  11. Elizabeth Says:

    CLASSIC Saved by the Bell episode! I *might* even own the DVD with that episode. MIGHT.
    And don’t even get me started on the time change. I hate it vehemently. I wish it would die a slow, painful death. Let’s start a campaign…


Leave a Reply

