Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday–Threat Level Midnight Edition September 20, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 10:07 PM

  • What a week, people.  What a week.  First, Isaac had an unfortunate head injury.  He was running down the stairs and around the corner, and he slipped.  He banged his head onto the edge of a wall, which threw him forward and then he banged his forehead on the train table.  OUCH.
  • Then on Sunday, I tumbled down a flight of stairs.  By “tumbled”, I mean I slid extraordinarily fast on my butt down a flight of stairs.  I was here alone with the boys and it scared me, but when I finally got to the bottom, I realized I was okay.  I walked into the laundry room to put away the cleaning supplies that I somehow had held onto the entire time and when I reached up to open the cabinet, I saw that my wrist looked like this:FREAKY!!!  So on the inside, I was thinking that I might be about to die of a blood clot, but I couldn’t show the boys that I was scared, so I was cheerfully walking through the house saying, “we need to find my phone, boys.  Mommy needs to call Daddy right away!”.  Jason rushed home (he was at our friends’ house nearby) and I began texting the photo around trying to see if death was imminent.  My mom said to put ice on it and apply pressure, so Jason made me a contraption out of a baby bib and an ice pack.  The craziest part was that I didn’t feel any pain for about 15 minutes–I think it must have been the adrenaline of it all.  So then I laid on the couch with my ice pack bib and Jason disappeared to check football scores.  Isaac brought me a crayon to cheer me up.  Then Matthew brought me a Duplo tower.  Then the “I Can Give Mommy More Presents Than You Can” game began.  Within minutes, I was on the couch, covered in blankets and stuffed animals and markers and crayons and blocks.  I even had a fake pumpkin on my shoulder.  All you could see anymore was my face.  My wrist is better now, and surprisingly not all that sore.

But I’m pretty sure my jacked up hips and spine will be predicting rainstorms for months to come.

  • There is a huge tree about to fall on our house.  I’m totally serious.  It all started last year right after we moved in, when I came home to find the power company cutting off….basically an entire side of the tree.  So we have had a lopsided massive oak tree in our front yard all year.  Then came all the tornadoes and tropical storms.  Last week, Jason asked me if I noticed that the tree looked like it was leaning more toward the house, and I had noticed.  Sunday after church, Jason went out to do some inspecting and realized that the ground above the root system was beginning to crack.  CRAP!!!!!
    Yesterday and today have been a flurry of trying to get this tree down.  We found out that the tree lies on a property line that makes it half the city’s responsibility, so the great news is that they are splitting the cost with us.  The bad news is that is has rained ALL DAY LONG and a tree professional told us that this tree was coming down on its own….and soon.  So we have moved the boys down to the basement in a room on the opposite side of the house to sleep.  Jason and I are taking our chances in the living room.  The tree should be down in the next two days, so say a prayer that it stays up until then!!
  • Okay, so this hasn’t been a funny post at all, so I will end with this:  Isaac had to bring in show and tell items to school that start with the letter “B”.  He got a basketball, a Blues Clues movie, a train named Ben, and a stuffed animal he named Braxton (don’t ask).  So we were saying “B-B-Basketball!!” or “B-B-Blues Clues”.  Meanwhile Matthew ran in the room carrying a tiny stuffed bunny that he calls Boo Boo Bunny.  I was really impressed that he made the connection and I said, “yes that DOES start with B!!!”.  To which he replied, “B-B-B Rabbit!!”.  Ummmm, not quite.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

10 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday–Threat Level Midnight Edition”

  1. Melissa Says:

    OUCH!! (and, hey, it’s not Wednesday yet) 🙂

  2. Vicky Says:

    Ouch, ouch and ouch! You are not having much luck this week!

  3. Jenny Says:

    I’m so glad you guys are all okay…but that tree is freaking me out, you’ll have to make sure and let us know when it’s down and y’all are safe again!

    That’s funny about Isaac, just when I think Jack actually knows some of his letters and begin to brag about him, he’ll insist a C is a J 🙂

  4. Yvonne Says:

    that tree would be freaking me out too. wow.

  5. Poor Isaac’s head and poor your wrist. I think that you need to wrap both of you in bubble wrap for a little while. ;0

  6. Wow, between you and Isaac, those are some pretty intense bruises! And I’m hoping that the tree has now come down and you are not underneath it…seriously…hope it all went well!

  7. Lori Says:

    I just realized that I never commented here or linked up. (shaking my head…) My head and my arm hurt the first time I read this post and they are hurting again. I hope you all are healing. I saw the beast coming down on facebook. I hate you are having to lose all that good shade though:(

  8. KJ Says:

    Glad the tree is going on your time and not its time! And I bet I know who had to clean up the gift giving frenzy…

  9. christine Says:

    That tree would completely freak me out. Our neighbor lost a tree during the hurricane, and luckily, it fell backwards… and onto wide open ground!

  10. Wow, that wrist looks insanely bruised!! That is crazy. I’m glad to hear it is feeling better. Great photo of your tree– it looks really lopsided. I hope it comes down soon and safely!


Leave a Reply

