Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday October 5, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 3:34 PM

  • Isaac asked me the other day if I knew that there was another word for a princess or queen.  Apparently, it is a “yahighness”.
  • We were all supposed to go to my aunt’s on Friday night for dinner but Matthew had a bad cold and was just too pitiful to go.  I thought he would get upset when I told him that he would stay home with Jason, but he was so excited.  He perked up and said, “Me and Daddy?  Two little boys together?”.
  • Driving home that night with Isaac, we opened the sunroof so he could look for stars.  It was pretty cloudy and we didn’t see any, but we could see the moon.  Isaac was very concerned that the moon was sad and lonesome without the stars.  I heard him whisper in the backseat, “It’s okay, moon, I will take care of you”.
  • Isaac ate 2 cupcakes on the night of my birthday dinner and I told him he could have another one the next day.  So Saturday morning, I heard him stirring in his room.  I heard a little bit of movement and then I heard him say loud and clear, “Almost time for a cupcake!”.
  • I’ve been looking for some skinny jeans to wear with my boots.  Trying them on is absolutely traumatic.  I want a pair, but I know I will only wear them with a long top and tall boots.  So basically there’s only about 18 inches of jeans that are visible.  And I am not willing to pay $50-70 for jeans that will be mostly covered up.  I told my sister I should invent the jeans version of the dickie.  Jickies, if you will.  Stretchy jeans thigh high type things but minus the feet portion.  Jickies–who’s on board?
  • Isaac:  There was an old woman who swallowed a bird.  How observe to swallow a bird.  Ferhaps she’ll cry.  This is a step up from when he used to sing it and end with “I hope she’ll die”.
  • Today the city came by our house in a truck with a big claw to pick up the fallen tree.  Matthew was in a mood, but was slightly appeased to be able to watch this go on out the window.  Isaac tried to stand next to him and Matthew hit him.  I scolded Matthew and told Isaac he was welcome to stand and watch with Matthew if he wanted, but Isaac answered, “no thank you.  I don’t want to stand next to him right now.  He is too botherish”.
  • Isaac’s class is having pajama day tomorrow.  When I saw this on the calendar and told him about it, he laughed for the longest time.  He kept saying, “you’re teasing!  You’re playing a silly joke on me!  We don’t wear pajamas to school!!”.  I finally had to email his teacher and tell her that she would have to tell him because he wouldn’t believe me!
  • I was on the phone the other day and Isaac was standing next to me, badgering me relentlessly.  “Excuse me?  Excuse me, mom??” and tugging at my arm.  Finally, I figured he must have something pretty important to tell me so I asked the person I was talking to to hold on.  Isaac’s announcement to me?  Once when I was a little boy, I ate a booger.  Good to know.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

9 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Beth Says:

    Oh, how I look forward to Whatnot Wednesday! Jickies?!?!?!? Water got sprayed all over my computer screen on that one!! I would give anything to spend a day talking with Isaac. He cracks me up!

  2. Maria Says:

    Okay SERIOUSLY giggled this entire post! And “awww” came out of my mouth upon reading that Isaac will take care of the moon.

  3. Kelly Says:

    Isaac may be the funniest little kid I know. Gee, I wonder where he gets his sense of humor? Btw, TOTALLY on board with Jickies – that is genius. Pure genius.

  4. Rachel Says:

    My husband keeps asking me “What??? What??” because I am laughing out loud!

    Seriously, Jickies may be the best idea I’ve ever heard! I am so with you on that.

    Love it!

  5. Jenny Says:

    yes I would buy your jickies, I’m wearing my skinny jeans right now and yes I only wear them with very long shirts and boots. If you would have told me I own a pair a couple of years ago I would have told you were insane, I mean I am far from skinny, why should I be wearing something called skinny jeans, but I must admit I like it!

  6. Lori Says:

    I never got past the work Dickie… oh my, do those bring back the memories?? Love it!

  7. Melissa Says:

    Yahighness totally cracked me up.

    And I hear ya on the jeans, although I have to say that I have not yet even attempted skinny jeans. Just trying to find the right jeans is a nightmare.

  8. Elizabeth Says:

    “It’s ok moon, i will take care of you.”??? Really?! I love that kid.

  9. Grace Says:

    i love isaac. can you please make shirts that have his most popular sayings on them? i would totally buy, “almost time for a cupcake!” in a heartbeat!
    jickies? i’m on board! sign me up!
    and as for afforable skinnies, check out old navy or target. if you find them on sale, you can get them for around 20 bucks! i love my skinnies and have been loving them for the last 3 years or so…but my super fashion forward sister (who first insisted i need to venture into the skinnies) said they are going to be replaced by super wide leg jeans. and i’m so sad about that. i’m too clumsy to wear super wide leg anythings! i’d fall all over myself before even taking a step! sigh. first world problems.


Leave a Reply

