Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

The One where the Old Folks get Jiggy October 11, 2011

Filed under: adult time — Elizabeth @ 4:21 PM

So where did I leave off?

Oh yes–Jason and I had walked over to the stadium in time for the concert, while a loyal friend at home was wiping the butt of my child.  Glory be.

As we walked over, I hoped out loud that we would not be the old folks at the concert.  One of the last concerts I went to was an outdoor festival type thing because I wanted to see Gavin Degraw (this was about 3 years ago, not that clarifying that makes it any cooler).  After suffering through a set by Flo Rida, watching a pregnant woman smoke cigarettes outside a porta-potty, and numerous teenagers get hauled off in handcuffs for underage drinking, I declared that I was too old for all this.

So I really didn’t want to put up with those kinds of shenanigans at this show.  It’s one thing to act a fool with Flo Rida on stage, but this is The Avett Brothers–let’s show a little respect, shall we?  At the gate, we pleasantly realized that while there were certainly people of all ages at the show, late 20s- early30s seemed to be the median age.

As we walked in, there was a place where you could get an armband if you planned on drinking.  Jason was adamant that we get armbands.  Even after I told him I wasn’t planning on drinking.  His reasoning was that we never get to do adult things.  Let’s just wear them like some kind of badge.  So we got them…..and drank Pepsi all night.  But to be clear–we are adults.  We had no responsibilities or kids to take care of and we could have had beer if we wanted.  And we had the armbands to prove it.  So there.

It’s just as well, because if I had had a couple of beers, this could have been me:

I kind of felt bad for the guy because passing out BEFORE the concert starts?  That ain’t winning.

Since we hadn’t had time for dinner, we had to go with stadium food.  Which I wasn’t overly upset about.  I have a deep passion for these…….

…and chowed down with wild abandon.  Never mind the fact that 10 minutes into that meal, I would have sold my shoes for a pack of Tums.  Which is kind of funny because that would mean I would have sold my TOMS for Tums.  I crack myself up.

After the nachos I went up to the bathroom and listened to all of the girls ooh-ing and ahh-ing over how in love they were with the Avett Brothers.  This is when I knew I was old (well I really knew when I needed the Tums, but this just reinforced it).  When I look at the Avett Brothers, I don’t feel anything romantic.  I just think about how proud their mom must be and how if I was their mom, I would tour around the country and watch every single show and cry a little bit because of how well they turned out.  And instead of wanting a shirt that says “Seth is my favett Avett”, I would be wearing one that said “The Avett Mother”.

When I rejoined Jason, he informed me that someone tried to buy a joint from him, which I found laughable because of everybody at the concert, Jason was definitely Least Likely to be Peddling Drugs.  So then he went to the bathroom, but no one tried to buy drugs from me.  Must have been my mom jeans that tipped them off that I wasn’t dealing.

As we waited for the Avett Brothers to take the stage, we were sitting on our blanket and Jason had his arms around me and a girl that must have been about 18 was walking by with some of her friends.  She stopped and said very loudly, “Awwwww, you guys are SO CUTE!!!”, in a tone that I normally reserve for elderly greeters at Wal Mart or 3-legged puppies.  We got a kick out of that.  I imagined her telling her friends–“did you see that old lady wearing TOMS with her mom jeans?  She was so cute, trying to be cool!!!!!  I hope I try that hard when I’m old!!!”.

Finally The Avett Brothers took the stage, and they were everything I hoped they would be.  Incredibly talented and gracious.  {And yes, Hope, if you’re reading this, you should go see them–but only if you like amazing, soulful, spiritual music with lyrics that make you bite back tears.  Oh and screaming.  That younger Avett is a screamer, but he makes it work.  Oh, and also banjos.  Cause I’ve never seen a banjo get schooled like the one I saw at this concert.  I think they’re in Greenville on New Years Eve.  If you want some song suggestions so you can preview their music, let me know.}

As the concert ended, I am proud to say that we were not losers who snuck out early to beat traffic.  We stayed for the finale just like the young folks.  It helped that we only had to walk over to our hotel which was this close…..

It was glorious.  Made even more magnificent because we slept until 9:45 the next morning!!!!!  Which made me have to run downstairs to the breakfast bar in the lobby in my jammies, because hello?  I want my free waffle.

I even dozed on the way home.  And you would think that I would be so refreshed and caught up on my sleep.  Yet Sunday morning, I nearly walked out the door wearing these shoes:

Which basically proves that my children have destroyed an inordinate number of my brain cells, the likes of which cannot be regenerated, even with massive amounts of sleep.  Or maybe I did regenerate some, but they were immediately decimated by the loud music, which I feel like is a fair trade.

So that was our adventure.

Oh, and I almost forgot–check out this adorable old couple I saw at the concert!!!!  Awwwwww!!!!!  They’re so cute!

 

8 Responses to “The One where the Old Folks get Jiggy”

  1. Beth Says:

    You do realize you have less than a year to comment about you being in your “early” 30s right? (I only point this out becaus I have a year and a week left… ;o). )

  2. Lori Says:

    Sounds like a great time. We went to the Falcons game this weekend and before the game, there was some poor girl losing her lunch (and probably a few drinks) in the toilet next to me. I thought, “Oh, those were the days….”

  3. That’s a great picture of the two of you. And I hardly doubt you were wearing mom jeans. Oh – but I do love the picture of the passed-out dude. Too funny. I know what you mean about “feeling old” but you really don’t look old at all. Seriously. If you asked that 18-year old how old she thought you both were, she’d probably say 25.

  4. Jenny Says:

    oh my I would have turned all kinds of red to have an 18 year old talk about me that way! 🙂

    I’m so glad y’all had fun and got sleep, woohoo for sleep!!!

  5. Melissa Says:

    Well, it sounds like a great time. And way to wear those armbands with pride! 🙂

  6. Summer Says:

    I could not stop laughing at this entire post! Every word you wrote explained exactly how I feel at concerts these days. The Avett Brothers totally rock! I didn’t really know much about them until we saw them open for Dave Matthews Band a couple of summers ago. I have been listening to them faithfully ever since. Glad to see they are headlining now.

  7. I love that last photo! I have never heard of the Avett Brothers, so I guess I must live under a rock. The other concert-goers can definitely provide a lot of amusement at a concert!

  8. Kelly Says:

    Oh wow, I thoroughly enjoyed your two-part story! You guys are too funny. It sounds like it was a great adventure and I agree – so not old!!!


Leave a Reply

