Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday October 19, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 3:27 PM

  • Isaac started something new recently by telling me that I can only kiss him on “kissing days”, and all the other days are fist bump days.  His idea is to alternate every day back and forth.  I always pretend I forget when it’s a fist bump day, so when I kiss him and he freaks out, I apologize profusely and then kiss him as an apology.  This leads to a him laughing and protesting while I repeatedly kiss him and apologize.  Which works out for me because he usually gets more kisses even on fist bump day.
  • Matthew doesn’t observe these rules yet (thank goodness), but it was still extra sweet when I went to get him up the other morning and the first thing he said to me was, “Hi mom, it’s a kissing day”.
  • The fire department visited the boys’ school last week, which was hugely exciting.  So one day after school, they both climbed in the car wearing fire hats.  The hats were held under their chin by a thin, elastic string.  Isaac was holding his head away from his car seat and being very still.  He asked if I could take his hat off for him VERY carefully.  I asked him what he was so worried about and he said, “well Ms. Frazier told us {then he switched to a teacher-y voice}, kids, you had better be careful with those hats because if you pull on that string, it WILL break and then you will cry!”.
  • Isaac’s birthday party is next Saturday and he is all-set on his theme.  His theme is:  Silkie.  Yes, his blanket.  He wants silkie on his cake.  And red and green sprinkles.  Those are his only requests, so I’ve gotta make it happen.
  • Matthew has never been very fond of sandwiches.  Until now.  I accidentally bought crunchy peanut butter when we were at the beach and he loves it!  So now he asks for “peanut butter and crunchy sandwiches” for lunch.
  • Isaac was playing a game and he told me that he was going to write down a name and I had to guess it.  He gave me these hints:  she’s a girl and she LOVES her pajamas.  Shockingly–it was me.
  • Isaac has a new saying that I think might catch on:  each and single day.   (He got “each and every day” and “every single day” mixed up.)
  • Let me use it in a sentence for you:  I wish it was kissing day each and single day.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.


 

7 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. So much cuteness here. I just about choked laughing at Isaac’s imitation of the teacher and imagining him holding his head very carefully to avoid calamity!

    Nothing wrong with loving your pyjamas!! Also – can’t wait to hear about the Silkie birthday party. That’s awesome!!

  2. Yvonne Says:

    so sweet! and good luck with that cake, mama!

  3. Jenny Says:

    I wish we could come to the silke party, so cute!

    and I love that your a girl who LOVES her pajamas, it is so funny what our kids pick up on 🙂

  4. Oh I love these! I can’t wait to see the Silkie cake. That is adorable. I love the kissing day. What a little cutie. Good on your for sneaking in those kisses!!

  5. Lori Says:

    I don’t think I’m going to share the “fist bump day” idea with Jack, but I do think Isaac’s pretty cool. I can’t wait to see a picture of his birthday cake either:) Crunchy peanut butter… really? I may try it with Jack. He runs for sandwiches, but I don’t know if it will work out as well. Jack won’t even eat Reese’s cups b/c peanut butter “will just make me throw up.”

  6. christine Says:

    Ha! Great week! I love the fire hat story… so cute, and funny!

  7. Christy Says:

    I’m behind on my blog-following but I’m getting to Whatnot Wednesday by Tuesday, so hopefully I can read the new one tomorrow. 🙂
    You need to post pictures of the Silkie cake! 🙂 Definitely think that Kissing Days sound best and I would want them each and single day too! 🙂
    Tell Matthew that I sometimes like peanut butter and crunchy sandwiches too. 🙂 Cuteness abounds in your house!


Leave a Reply

