Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot…..Wait, What Day is It? November 11, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 3:46 PM

  • Isaac asked me the other day, “Mom, can we pretend that I’m a virus that makes people sick and you’re an emptybody that tries to stop me?”.
  • Today, Matthew was singing along so loudly with “Feliz Navidad” in the car.  He was LOVING it.  Then “Baby, it’s Cold Outside” came on, and he didn’t know any of the words, but he was belting something out.  Hopefully I am raising at least one Christmas fanatic.
  • Remember that Isaac requested Silky cupcakes for his birthday?  Well, here they are, next to their namesake…..
  • Matthew knows all the letters and their sounds, but he is having a hard time putting it all together to sound out words.  So we have these wooden letters that go with a puzzle, and he loves to play with them.  Sometimes, I will build a word and he will try to figure it out.  So I wrote “bat” the other day.  First we went through each letter sound.  I said, “what does a ‘b’ say?” and he said “buzz”.  Pretty funny.  I clarified that I meant the LETTER B.  After he got all of the letter sounds right, I said, “now put them all together”.  Then, very carefully, he reached down and pushed the wooden letters all very closely together.  I could never be a teacher!
  • Isaac drew this picture the other day.  I asked him who it was.  He said, “me.  Up close.”.
  • Matthew is still super obsessed with the new cat, Collin.  Collin purrs very loudly and Matthew will say, “he’s a-rumbling!!”.  I told him that it was called purring, and now he says, “he’s Furring”.  Which in truth, he usually is doing that as well.
  • Speaking of fur, Isaac saw a tuft of white fur on the floor, and said, “Look, Collin lost some of his stuffing!”.
  • I bought a cat bed/scratching post type thing for the cat and the boys were helping me put it together.  The parts were called pipes and joints.  So I’m sitting there saying, “Isaac, can you pass me a pipe?” and “Matthew, can you pass me a joint?”.  They had no idea how funny it was.  But it was.  Maybe you had to be there…..

 

 

8 Responses to “Whatnot…..Wait, What Day is It?”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Ok so we can definitely be great friends now that I see you up close includes some chin hairs and maybe pimples 🙂 xo!

  2. christine Says:

    oh, so many mixed up funnies in this batch!! The “stuffing” and the “pipe” and “joint” have me cracking up!

  3. Oh my goodness… I don’t even know which tidbit was my favourite this week. They are ALL so funny!! I do think the joint/pipe conversation is hilarious! And I absolutely love the silky cupcakes! Isaac will love remembering those when he’s older.

  4. Yvonne Says:

    I don’t care what day it is – you still make me laugh! I love the pipe/joint but the “b” thing – yeah, I get that. And it’s totally cute. And sing, Matthew, sing!

  5. Luciana Says:

    LOL! The last part really made me LOL! Fun stuff.

  6. Lori Says:

    I wasn’t there and it was pretty funny to me too! I also loved the “buzz” and pushing the letters together too. I didn’t get my Whatnot… Friday done this week, but just for your information, Ben went on a pretty big gagging bit, but did not actually vomit. We lost the game so this week, I’m going to stick something down his throat if I need to just to be on the safe side:)

  7. Christy Says:

    So funny! Love buzz and passing joints in your house with 4 year olds. Wow! 🙂 The silkie cupcakes are wonderful! Good job! Oh, and he lost some of his stuffing had me giggling! 🙂 Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

