Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday–the Chronically Tardy Edition November 18, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 6:11 PM

  • Isaac is having a mild Spiderman obsession.  Just with the one Spiderman book he has though–we got a DVD of Spiderman cartoons from the library, and it proved to be too scary.  So Isaac has begun drawing his own comic-type stories.  And I think we can rest easy that Isaac is not criminal mastermind waiting to happen.  In the first one, the bad guy throws marshmallows.  From there we went to pointy needles and throwing mud.  That’s as bad as it gets in Isaac’s world.
  • Isaac grabbed a large textbook about copper (BO-RING!) that Jason has for school and plopped it in front of me on the coffee table.  He announced, “we are about to read a boring story out of this Bible right here.”
  • In addition to his spiderman obsession, Isaac is also really into PBS right now.  He doesn’t even watch that much TV, but it usually is PBS, and he also likes to play games on their website.  The other day he was riding his bike and he screeched to a halt next to me and said, “Super Isaac is made possible in part by contributions from viewers like you!”.  He also wrote on a number on his drawings “go to PBSkids.org”  after asking me how to spell “PBSkids.org”.
  • Gave Matthew a clementine with dinner and it happened to have some seeds in it.  He found one and yelled, “HEY!  This clementine has beans in it!”.
  • I told you about Matthew singing along with Feliz Navidad.  Well both of the boys LOVE the song.  But Isaac calls it “Elise Andida”.  No matter how much I tell him the right way, he insists.  Hope he doesn’t get beat up by any spanish speaking kids at his school.
  • Don’t you just hate auto-correct when texting?  I was responding to Jason the other day, and I was trying to say “Fanks”, which is how Isaac used to always say “thanks” and it has kind of become something we say now.  I know it’s not a word, and my phone auto corrected it to “Ganja”, which is like another word for pot, right?  So now instead of saying “fanks”, Jason and I say “ganja” when we mean “thank you”.  We get weirder every day.
  • Sometimes Isaac comes home from school talking about TV shows he watched there.  I’m not a fan of this at all.  It seems on rainy days when they can’t go out on the playground, they let them watch TV.  Not even PBS or educational DVDs though, things like Special Agent Oso, Third and Bird or Bubble Guppies.  I understand that they need something to do inside and I even understand that the teacher needs a bit of a break, but seriously, if anybody is going to rot my kids’ brain out, I would appreciate it if I could be that person.  Thanks.
  • You know how sometimes you have something at your house and it seems you’ve just always had it and you’re not even really sure where it came from?  Well apparently, our cat brush is one of those items.  Jason came upstairs and said to me, “are you aware that our cat brush pre-dates the fall of the Berlin Wall?”.  Apparently, printed on the back is “Made in West Germany”, which according to Jason happened when I was 12.  So where did this thing come from–is it some kind of relic that has been passed down generation to generation?  Maybe.  I think my aunt gave me a bag of cat stuff when her cat, Sweet Pea died and this may have been a part of that.  Either way, it still works just fine.  Maybe it will be a family heirloom and one day, Matthew’s kids will take it on Antiques Roadshow.  Or maybe they will just laugh at how their grandmother almost never bought new things.

 

 

10 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday–the Chronically Tardy Edition”

  1. deb jacobs Says:

    i laughed so hard i choked at the isaac reading out of the book thing !

  2. Jenny Says:

    ok I really never laugh out loud, sad but true, but the really Boring story out of this Bible made me crack up. Do you make this stuff up? He is just too funny! Plus I totally dig his PBS love!

  3. Melissa Says:

    LOL Love the chronically tardy edition.

    I agree about TV at school – I like for TV to be a break for me. 🙂

  4. Yvonne Says:

    Oh my goodness Elizabeth – tears are streaming down my face because I’m laughing so hard. Isaac cracks me up! The boring bible and pbs are priceless. And that cat brush is too funny. But antique roadshow is an awesome show:)

    but the school thing – that would tick me off too.

    but ganja. That’s awesome.

  5. Tiffany Says:

    We also says “Fanks” in our house! Love it as usual. 🙂

  6. christine m tomberlin Says:

    You are all crazy, wierd, funny and nerdy–my kind of family!!

  7. The fact that Jason would notice that the cat brush was made in West Germany, and then it would become a family connundrum, is hilarious and just so like you two.

  8. Lori Says:

    I love it when they get obsessed with cool things. These made me laugh out loud a couple of times reading them so Ganga for that!

  9. Another seriously funny WW post. Your children are hilarious…and you and your husband too!! My husband always asks why I’m laughing when I read your posts, and then I have to read them to him.

  10. Kelly Says:

    Seriously, GANJA for this post because I really need a laugh today. You never disappoint me. Again, ganja.


Leave a Reply

