Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Then and Now November 19, 2011

Filed under: adoption thoughts,looking back,Matthew — Elizabeth @ 2:32 PM

Two years ago, we got off an airplane with our new son and became a family of four.  Many things have changed in that time….and a few things have stayed the same.

Two years ago, Matthew’s first encounter with a tricycle involved him standing straddled over the seat and dragging the tricycle around.

Today, Matthew is riding a two-wheeled bike with training wheels.

Two years ago, two of Matthew’s favorite snacks were apples and shrimp crackers.

Today, two of Matthew’s favorite snacks are apples and shrimp crackers.

Two years ago, Matthew didn’t know a word of English.

Today, I am very sad to say, Matthew only knows a few words in Korean.

Two years ago, Matthew didn’t want to take off his blue shoes from Korea.  He has always had a hard time with new shoes.

Today, Matthew is wearing a pair of shoes that he chose himself at a shoe store.  (HUGE progress!!!)

Two years ago, Matthew drank a yogurt drink every morning with his breakfast.

Today, Matthew drinks a yogurt drink every morning with his breakfast.

Two years ago, for Christmas, I had no idea what to give Matthew.  I had no idea what would make him happy or what he really liked.  I ended up buying him a huge stuffed dog from Walgreens, because it made him smile one day while we were shopping there.

This year for Christmas, he has already told me that he wants a panda pillow pet.  Which is no surprise to me, because I know he is into panda bears right now.

Two years ago, I sat in a rocking chair in Matthew’s room and cried because I felt overwhelmed, wondering what we were going to do with this sad, scared child.

Today, we wonder what we would ever do without him.

Happy Forever Family Day, Matthew.

 

13 Responses to “Then and Now”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    Happy two years together!

  2. Lori Says:

    I hope your family has a wonderful day together today and that Matthew feels all the love God and all three of you have for him and how special he is that God chose to put his family together this way. And I’m thinking about asking for a pillow pet for Christmas myself! I love them.

  3. Kimberly Says:

    Such a beautiful post — I hope you guys have an incredible family day.

  4. christine m tomberlin Says:

    He is truly such a wonderful addition to our family! Love expands…

  5. claudia Says:

    Love love LOVE this post!

  6. Great post! And congrats on 2 years!!

  7. Jenny Says:

    Happy forever family day Matthew!

    Elizabeth, that was beautiful, I love how he’s grown so much but in some ways stayed the same.

  8. Kala Says:

    I can’t believe it’s been two years already! Love to hear about him. Happy family day!

  9. Kelly Says:

    OK, crying at work (ganja a lot for that!). This is lovely, just lovely. TWO YEARS. Amazing journey and it’s just the beginning. I (heart) Matthew.

  10. Happy Forever Family day! It’s amazing what can change and stay the same in two years.

  11. Beth Says:

    This is beautiful, just beautiful. As many times as I have come back to read it I still tear up at the part about the huge stuffed dog.

  12. Melissa Says:

    I love, love, love the compare/contrast of the difference in two years. I did a scrapbook page similar to this when we brought Rory home only it was one month later as opposed to two years. Such a fabulous idea!

  13. christine Says:

    I love the comparisons you are able to make after two years as a family… Happy Family Day!


Leave a Reply

