Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

My First Black Friday November 29, 2011

Filed under: adult time,we so crazy — Elizabeth @ 3:57 PM

So do not ask me how it happened that after brining, cooking, baking, hosting Thanksgiving dinner, and cleaning up that I came to be standing in line at midnight for Black Friday shopping.

I do have a hypothesis though.  Every year, I eat ham on Thanksgiving.  Every year, I go to bed and say “screw it” to Black Friday.  This year, I ate turkey, and I was pumped up like a maniac.  My hypothesis is that retailers have secretly been injecting commercially sold turkeys with crack cocaine.

I shouldn’t have even been awake past 9 PM.  On a regular day, my eyes are closing at 9, and I worked my butt off on Thanksgiving, so this was incredibly unnatural.  Especially since it wasn’t like I was really going to buy a bunch of stuff.  There were just a couple of small things I wanted that were at Kohl’s and my sister wanted to go get a comforter.

So off we went.  We got in line at 11:40 PM and there were already about 200 people in line.  It didn’t really hit me, what we were doing, until the doors opened and we started going in.  Then I started to panic—what if I got a nervous stomach and spent the entire Black Friday in the Kohl’s bathroom?  Why wasn’t there a fire martial at the door?  Shouldn’t they be counting the number of people and limiting how many can go in at once?  Oh God, why did I bring a clutch–I needed both hands for shopping!!!  We didn’t even have a game plan–if we separated, how would we ever find each other again???

Luckily, we got in and we both got what we were looking for, and since my sister’s husband had come along, we had him stand in line while we browsed.  After we left with our loot, I was PUMPED.  It was about 1 AM and I felt like I could have gone all night, which made no sense at all.

Thankfully, clearer heads prevailed (they must not have eaten as much crack-injected turkey as I did) and we went home.  I slept until 9:45 the next morning, which I’m pretty sure hasn’t happened since we had kids.

It was pretty awesome.  Honestly, I felt a bit like a rock star for doing it all, and I think the boys will be pretty pumped on Christmas morning when they see their huge cardboard rocket ship!!!

 

7 Responses to “My First Black Friday”

  1. Lori Says:

    Well, I’m impressed! I saw a few pictures of Walmart posted on fb and could not imagine what in that store could make me fight that crowd. I have done outlets on Black Friday before, but not until the afternoon when everyone has gone home. Thankfully, Jack has asked for NOTHING this year for Christmas so I didn’t even have to feel bad about not getting a deal. I just did not have you pegged for a Black Friday shopper. Super impressive!

  2. christine Says:

    Ha! I did Black Friday for the first time ever too! Good times, good times…

  3. tina Says:

    okay, i love love loved your turkey brining device…(but, pst…i learned from alton brown that putting it in a garbage bag and then into your device makes for much easier cleanup…and less queasy feelings from using a kitty litter box. hahaha)

    and i’m always impressed by black friday shoppers. a couple of years ago, i went and was emotionally scarred from the walmart experience that i vowed to never do it again. 😀

  4. Absolutely hilarious! Good on you for changing things up this year. I’m sure it was very cool to experience Black Friday. I’d like to one day!

  5. Jenny Says:

    love your freak out, that would totally be me, so impressed that you could stay up that late! so glad you got what you wanted to.

  6. I love all the excitement around Black Friday and I love me some good deals…but I’ve never actually stood in line outside for hours to get into a store. That’s a new level of shopping! I don’t know if they have many of those sales in Canada, although I’m sure there are some. I did get some great Black Friday deals, but I got them on the Thursday evening, not Friday. Go figure!

  7. Melissa Says:

    Very impressed! I’ve gotten up really early on Black Friday, but have never actually gone and stood in line on Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

