Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

If You’re Happy and You Know it…..Write it Down December 4, 2011

Filed under: and that's how I feel about that,Isaac,special needs — Elizabeth @ 9:40 AM

For the past few months, I’ve been agitated.  It’s better now, which is why I can write about it, but it’s probably one of the reasons I’ve been a terrible blogger lately.  After a few months of Isaac doing so well, his tics returned.  With a vengeance at first, and then they kind of leveled off to a somewhat “normal” level.

I noticed, Jason noticed, but what broke my heart was Isaac noticing.

Mom, my toe taps are back.  Why are they back?

And I had no answers.  And that is the hardest thing about being a mom–when you just don’t have the answers.  I’m actually surprised at how agitated the situation was making me.  I wasn’t angry AT Isaac, obviously.  I was angry FOR him, and I was angry that we’ve worked so hard and saw him get well and now it felt like we were back at square one.  I withdrew because I didn’t want to talk about it.  I spent my spare time trying to get 3 stars on every level of Angry Birds because, well because I just didn’t know what else to do.

Every night we would pray that God would take his toe taps away, and every day he would ask me why they were still there, why didn’t God take them away.

One morning we were getting ready for church and Isaac asked me why I thought his toe taps were back.  Swallowing down a sob, I told him that I really didn’t know and I really didn’t understand but that I was working very hard to try to figure it out.  As he put on his shoes, he lit up and said, “I have an idea!  I think I’ve figured it out!”.  He jumped straight up in the air and shouted, “I think God just made me this way!!!!”.

Color me humbled.

And wouldn’t you know what his memory verse at church was that morning:  I praise you, because you made me wonderful.

And he was made wonderfully.  And to the point of complete perfection.  And while these things agitate me out of a loving, motherly concern for him, Isaac is an amazing and resilient child.  At the age of 5, he is certain that his God makes no mistakes.

A few nights ago, after the boys went to bed, I was straightening up the coffee table and found a stack of papers that Isaac had been writing on while I prepared dinner.  It was mostly standard stuff–his name….his favorite color…..stick figures…..silky…..and then I found this…..

which tells me all I really need to know about this child of mine.

Tics or no tics, in sunshine and rain, Isaac is happy.

 

19 Responses to “If You’re Happy and You Know it…..Write it Down”

  1. God is speaking to Isaac even at this early age and Isaac is aware of him. Like Samuel, I think God is going to use him in a special way. You have been so blessed.

  2. Jaime scott Says:

    That is so sweet and sad at the same time. As a mother, I can totally identify with you. A few months ago, we took peyton to have a biometric (i think thats the word) body scan. It’s a 25 min procedure that scans their entire body through their hand (so no pain and not invasive). It can identify an amazing amount of things including allergies, genes, cancer, illness, hormone levels, toxins,and weaknesses in areas/organs of their body. It it’s incredibly in depth, even a little bit overwhelming. I was just thinking maybe it might be helpful in identifying whats going on in isaac. Janna fields was the one who told me about it. Her husband and daughter have done it. Afterwards the lady goes through everything with you and prescribes homeopathic medicines and herbs to help heal the body…it’s very holistic.

  3. Jaime scott Says:

    I couldnt finish my comment…anyway if that interests you let me know and I can get you the info to contact them. Its $150.

  4. Marcia Jones Says:

    I love the “Issac is Happy”! It is very obvious when you talk with him! He is very mature for his age also. I loved getting to visit with your family yesterday. And happy that you guys are in our Wine family!

  5. Cari Says:

    As you may or may not remember, Hazel pulled her hair out from the time she had motor control. We tried everything, and it went on for 8 years before she was able to control it (she still does it). For the first few years, I was angry about it too. I was angry at her for not stopping, I was angry at me for not being able to find a solution that doctors and experts told me was unsolvable, and I was angry that there was such an unnecessary thing in the world to even have to overcome. And then I started corresponding with a man whose daughter had the same condition, and he had written a book about it. He told me to take a step back and see what the anger had done. I looked honestly and discovered that it sometimes overshadowed times when I should just be on the floor putting together a puzzle with her or when she was hurt by someone calling her a boy or someone thinking she had cancer, I talked instead of hugged. When our pediatrician (who is a great doctor, by the way, regardless of recent internet conversation) told me she was perfect – it struck me hard. She is perfect because she is exactly the way God made her. She is a strong, funny, happy teen (gasp!) who still pulls her hair out sometimes.

  6. Tiffany Says:

    So sweet. I admit it….I cried when I read what he wrote. 🙂

  7. Yvonne Says:

    to have the faith of a child.

    I understand the aggravation – I’m going through a bit of it myself and it is made even harder when it is your child. But what a wonderful reminder from an amazing boy.

  8. Rachel Says:

    Wise beyond his years!

  9. Jenny Says:

    you know how amazing I think your son is! thank you for that reminder today that God doesn’t make mistakes. praying for you as you deal with figuring out what’s going on.

  10. Lori Says:

    Isaac is also very special!

  11. tina Says:

    What a wonderful way God reminds us of who He is and who we are in Him — through your sweet Isaac. Praying for your momma’s heart. ❤

  12. Kala Says:

    I love to read about your kids. Isaac is awesome and makes me smile!

  13. Kim Says:

    “At the age of 5, he is certain that his God makes no mistakes.” I love this. Why can’t we all keep this certainty as we grow older??

  14. deb jacobs Says:

    all i can say is wow. very humbling. xx

  15. claudia Says:

    Oh, this is so beautiful! In every single way.

  16. Melissa Says:

    What a wonderful realization for Isaac to have!

    And I’m interested in the toe taps. Because Camden also has crazy fidgets. They change every couple of months. I finally talked to his doctor about them a couple of months ago, and he told us that as long as he’s not hurting himself, then he’s probably okay. Just a very high metabolism and very, very fidgety. He said you could put him in a straight jacket and he would still find a way to still do that nervous tick whatever it might be at the moment.

  17. What a great reminder to accept your children for who they are even when you want to help them get better or change a behaviour. I’ve definitely had parenting lulls like the one you describe – feeling defeated and discouraged. Thanks for sharing your experience and your “aha” moment!

  18. Kelly Says:

    Wow, I am speechless. The wisdom that boy has at his age is quite startling. Why can’t we all have his sense of perspective?

  19. Christine Says:

    This is just beautiful… On so many levels.


Leave a Reply

