Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Reset January 6, 2012

Filed under: everyday life,marriage,the holidays — Elizabeth @ 11:35 AM

A few months ago, Jason told me that his company was going to be forcing the employees to take time off between Christmas and New Years.  Unless they had direct projects that needed to be worked on, they had to use vacation time for that week.  Honestly, I was kind of bummed, simply because it seemed unfair and also because I know not every employee had the vacation time to do this.  (We were lucky in that Jason had plenty.)

I didn’t think much about it and we didn’t make any plans.  We were just trying to get through Christmas and the whirlwind of company and get-togethers and the usual madness.

Once things settled down, it hit us that we had all this time together and nothing to do.  I wasn’t too optimistic.  I was worried that we would all be on each other’s nerves, that we would be going crazy from boredom.

But it was AMAZING.

And I can’t even tell you many specifics of what we did.  We didn’t go to the zoo.  We didn’t go to any museums.  We didn’t go out to eat.

We did taking turns getting up with the kids, which meant that one of us was sleeping in every day.  It was glorious.  I slept until after 9 on two different days.  I slept so long that I was swollen when I woke up.  Swollen, people!!!

The weather was great, so we spent a lot of time outside.  A couple of trips to the playground.  A couple of trips to a track where we rode bikes, scooters, and rollerblades.

We stayed in our pajamas until after lunch.  On two of the days, our lunch was pancakes and bacon.

Jason got some odd jobs done around the house.  I read a book.  We took down Christmas decorations.  The kids played with their new toys.  We went to Costco.  We watched movies together after the kids went to bed.  We laughed a lot.

It was just everyday living, but on a ridiculously laid back pace.  And it was awesome.  I never once wished that it was time for the kids to go back to school.  Normally, I would be so ready to get back on a schedule, but I simply loved it.

It was a precious gift of time with my family.  Actually, it was my favorite gift of the Christmas season.

 

12 Responses to “Reset”

  1. Tiffany Says:

    I love this.

  2. Meredith Says:

    “I slept so long that I was swollen when I woke up. Swollen, people!!!”
    I just laughed out loud. Not laughing at you, of course:) Thanks, I needed that!

  3. Yvonne Says:

    it sounds perfect!

  4. joannworks Says:

    We did that too! Now we are in our early 60s, and small children now big….but just not being at our work jobs and usual routines felt so good! I slept in late too, and felt so blessed for that! We lounged, we ate, we were slugs and had no plans. It was such a gift. I often sat in silence and stared at the tree and was in HEAVEN! Silence is beginning to be my bliss.
    Glad that slow down felt right for your family too. “Time” is such a gift! The “laid back pace” has become a thing of the past in our culture.

  5. Isn’t it glorious?! Your week sounds exactly like my week has been with both Andy and I home. A great yin yang with the week before that was crazy with Christmas stuff.

  6. Sue Says:

    what a wonderful gift indeed!! oh, the joys of simple pleasures.
    hope there are many more moments like these for you guys in 2012!

  7. Jenny Says:

    sold. it is on my list for next year, here’s hoping!

    xo!

  8. deb jacobs Says:

    i’m so glad you had that!!

  9. Kala Says:

    That made me smile. Glad it turned into a blessing!

  10. I love that kind of downtime, and you are so right, that it rarely ever happens. We had it similarly here, as my work always shuts down between Christmas and New Year’s and we have to use vacation for it. Steve decided to take the vacation, too, so we could enjoy some rare time at home together. It was glorious! I’m glad you enjoyed it, too. A great way to recharge for the coming year.

  11. Melissa Says:

    It sounds fantastic!

  12. Elizabeth Says:

    So lovely! We actually had a similar holiday – relaxed, nowhere to be, and not much schedule.
    So glad that you were able to enjoy laidback time together!


Leave a Reply

