Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday January 25, 2012

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 9:49 AM

  • This morning before 6:45 AM, I wiped a poopy butt, fed the 3 animals, gave the dog a pill, and broke up a screaming, sobbing, and hitting fight between the boys about who was going to play with the empty toilet paper roll.  An empty toilet paper roll, people.  So basically, I may as well sell the 1000 Thomas trains because they are fighting over an empty toilet paper roll.  Thank God, we didn’t finish a roll of paper towels.  Something that monumental could have sent someone to the emergency room.  Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue.
  • So I joined Pinterest back in September and for one weekend, I got really excited about it.  And then I never went back.  And I keep getting these emails telling me that people are following me on there, and it makes me feel pressured like I should be on there pinning noteworthy things, but I just can’t get into it.  I mean, if you haven’t noticed, I’m barely keeping up with my blog.
  • Karate is going great for Isaac.  He really respects his sensei and it is great for teaching him respect and for his confidence.  Monday at class, Isaac tossed his shoes under a chair and the sensei talked to him about how he should line his shoes up nicely.  During class, they also discussed the importance of keeping their rooms neat and clean (especially since the third part of the Little Dragons pledge is “I will clean my room”).  Anyway, when he came home, he immediately went upstairs and did this in his closet:
  • Another karate perk is that the other day, I asked Isaac to do something and he said, “I don’t feel like it and I don’t want to, but I will because you asked me to”.  Now I really, really, really need to get Matthew on board with karate.  Because after the infamous toilet paper roll battle this morning, he spit his toothpaste all over the mirror because he was mad at me.  I’m pretty sure that ain’t in the Little Dragons code.
  • I’m confused about milk prices.  At my regular grocery store, all of the gallons of milk cost the same.  But at Costco (also known as my happy place), the skim, 2% and whole milk are all different prices.  The skim is the cheapest and the price goes up from there.  That’s some pricey milkfat, y’all.
  • I’ve been rollerblading.  We will now pause while you chuckle to yourself.  Are you done?  Good.  So yeah, Jason and I bought rollerblades back when we lived in Florida–probably around 2004.  Neither of us can remember the exact circumstances that led us to a sporting goods store to make this purchase.  I can only assume that these are the kinds of bizarre things you do when you have disposable income.  Anyway, I broke out the rollerblades recently, and Jason and I have had quite a chuckle because you never see people rollerblading anymore or hear about it.  It just seems so…..’90s.  Which is also funny because that would mean that they were already out of style when we bought them.  So now every time I get them out, I get the “Portlandia” song stuck in my head…..the dream of the ’90s is alive.
  • Okay, I’m just gonna say it.  I would love to win the HGTV dream home.  Who wouldn’t?  But I am such a realist, all I can ever think is that if I did win it, I wouldn’t be able to afford the property taxes and insurance.  I mean once they were giving one away in Key West.  Can you imagine the hurricane insurance on that bad boy??  I’m such a buzzkill.  I know.  Can you imagine how hard it is to be married to me??

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

8 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Jerusha Says:

    Here from WAGI…you’re cracking me up! 🙂

  2. I haven’t gotten into pinterest yet either! Milk prices are different in Canada for each type of milk. I believe 2% is the cheapest because it’s the most popular. I still have my rollerblades bought in the early 2000s…I must have got them when they were totally “out”! I enjoyed rollerblading 10 years ago but haven’t really done it since. It’s not like I could do it outside in the winter here anyway!

  3. Christy Says:

    I just got on pinterest – somewhat fun but I don’t exactly get the hype. Ah well.

    I think the same thing about the HGTV dream house. And I also think that then we’d have to take all of our vacations there, and I don’t want to take all of our vacations there. If they build one in Central New York then I’ll definitely try to win (that’s where my family all lives and housing prices are fairly low so taxes and insurance aren’t too bad and we do go there about twice a year…lol). 🙂

  4. christine Says:

    Wow, you have had quite the day! Yikes.

    I love the rewards you reap from karate! Sweet! I’ll be honest, the whole “honor” thing is part of the reason I want to get S involved in Taekwondo… just six more months and he’s eligible! 😉

  5. Jenny Says:

    I have never heard that song, the video cracked me up!

    wiping poopy bottoms really is my least favorite part of my day, diapered ones don’t bother me so much, it’s the big boy ones, in case you wanted tmi.

    I can’t rollerblade! I can rollerskate, can you imagine me doing that now, I’m good at it and it would be fun but that would really be committing to my 80’s theme 🙂

    We are totally doing Karate!!

  6. Melissa Says:

    Oh, I resisted Pinterest for a very long time, but once I gave in, I surrendered completely.

  7. Frenchie Says:

    Ditto on 2 things:

    1. Pinterest. I signed up because I saw some enthusiasm about it on a couple of blogs, and I hate to be left out, but I just… don’t get it.

    2. The HGTV Dream Home. I totally entered to win it and everything, but I wondered how much it must cost to heat and cool that huge house?

  8. Kelly Says:

    “I’m pretty sure that ain’t in the Little Dragons code.” Hilarious.

    I remember rollerblading in 1994 so yeah, you were already lame when you bought them. (That, and I am obviously very old because it was in college …)

    I (heart) pinterest but have been taking a break recently. I still think it’s a cool concept.

    But I REALLY (heart) Portlandia.


Leave a Reply

