Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

The Snacks they Love April 3, 2012

Filed under: food! — Elizabeth @ 9:10 PM

I promise this is not turning into a food blog.  Although I did make the cutest huevos rancheros tonight….

But that’s another story.  I love to hear about healthy snack ideas that kids actually love to eat, so I am going to share with you 2 snack recipes.  The first one is Isaac’s favorite, pumpkin muffins.

I made this batch gluten free for the first time so that Matthew and I could eat them too.  Nobody could even tell the difference!

Pumpkin Muffins

2 cups flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour + 3/4 tsp xanthan gum)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

3/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cloves

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar

2 single serving cups of applesauce

1/2 cup pureed or canned pumpkin (I also sub in pureed butternut squash sometimes)

2 flax “eggs” (which equals out to 2 Tbsp. ground flax + 6 Tbsp. water)  or you could use eggs

You could also add 1/4 cup of raisins or walnuts, but we don’t.  My kids are purists.

Preheat oven to 400 and grease 12 muffin cups (although there is somehow enough batter to make about 14 muffins, LOL).  In one bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices.  Combine all other ingredients in another bowl.  Mix until well blended.  Slowly blend the dry ingredients in.  Pop in the oven for 15-20 minutes.  Cool and enjoy!

So now for Matthew’s favorite, and let me tell you, he is obsessed with these.  This is another recipe from the book, “gluten-free deliciously”.

Gingersnap Granola Bars

3 cups oat bran

1 cup old fashioned oats

3/4 cup almond butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup blackstrap molasses

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup raisins (we don’t add the raisins)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp cardamom

1/2 tsp salt

****Next time I make the recipe, I plan to increase the almond butter to 1 cup and decrease the brown sugar to 3/4 cup****

Combine all ingredients.  It will feel a bit dry–I use my hands to mix it.  Press it into a lightly greased 11×14 pan.  Bake at 350 until the edges begin to brown.  I honestly can’t remember how long.  20 minutes?  Let the pan sit for about 5 minutes after you take it out of the oven and then go ahead and slice them.  They end up being pretty crunchy!  Delicious.

So, please share your favorite homemade and healthy snacks with me!  Even if you think my kids may be allergic–I’ve gotten pretty good at substitutions!

 

3 Responses to “The Snacks they Love”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    Yum! I love pumpkin muffins and hadn’t found a good GF recipe so I’m going to try these (with the GF flour – so glad that worked for you! I love having a all-purpose flour – makes life so much easier). And I will have to check out that book – it sounds great!

    Up next – your smoothies, right??? 🙂

  2. deb jacobs Says:

    do you have any idea what the calorie count is on the p. muffins? =))

  3. I love pumpkin muffins but often just make them in the fall…gotta change that. This recipe looks very healthy. I like using the flax egg substitution even though we’ll eat eggs here. I rarely notice much of a difference anyway. My husband will love those granola bars too. Thanks for the ideas!


Leave a Reply

