Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday April 18, 2012

Filed under: adoption thoughts,whatnot — Elizabeth @ 12:46 PM
  • Is it bad that I’m too lazy to even put my Whatnot Wednesday picture on top of this post?  Yes?  Whatever.  Picture a neti pot.  Now picture me pouring water into my nose.  Now picture all of this text falling out the other nostril…….So let’s do this.
  • “The New Adventures of Old Christine” is absolutely hysterical.  I catch the reruns on Lifetime sometimes, but then I ordered some of the seasons on Netflix.  Seriously.  Very, very funny.
  • Let me talk to you about spaghetti squash au gratin.  You know what?  Just make it.  You can thank me later.
  • My veggie garden is coming along nicely, but there is some kind of varmint that keeps bothering my spinach plants.  I thought it was squirrels, but this morning, it was definitely a cat.  I know for sure because it dropped a deuce right there in the middle of my spinach.  I don’t know if cat poo has the same kind of fertilizing properties as manure, but I removed it hastily.  Cause that’s just gross.
  • The other day at the grocery store, we ran into a set of twins that take karate with Isaac.  Matthew is always there at class, so the twins know him, but they don’t interact much with him because he doesn’t take the class.  So we stopped to talk to them and their mom at the store, and the twins immediately started to ask me questions about Matthew.  You can tell they have probably been asking their mom about him and that she explained to them that he was adopted.  Their curiosity and interest was very sweet and it is the first time that kids have asked so many questions.  They wanted to know if Matthew was always his name and how old he was when he joined our family and if Isaac went with us to Korea.  Their questions were all innocent and didn’t cross any privacy lines, but I think their mom was nervous that I would be offended (I wasn’t at all!).  I answered all of the questions, but Matthew totally zoned out of the conversation, and I am really ready to sit down with both boys this summer and do the W.I.S.E Up Powerbook.  It is Matthew’s story and he should be the one to decide how he wants these questions (the innocent ones and the harder ones that are bound to come up as well) answered.  Isaac needs to go through it as well because, for better or worse, he tends to do a lot of Matthew’s talking for him.
  • Speaking of Isaac and adoption talk, he brought up adoption the other day.  I can’t even remember what we were talking about, but I asked him if adoption was always a happy thing.  He said, “no, it is happy because you are a part of a family, but it is also sad because that means you lost another family”.  I was so proud that he already recognizes this!
  • I’m making date sugar right now.  Well, I was trying to make it yesterday, but after I baked and dried out the dates, my food processor spazzed out when I tried to pulverize them.  Everything I read made it sound like this was gonna be easy.  But instead, I have one ziploc bag with perfectly powdered dates, one with rocky powder and whole rock-hard dates.  My counters and floors are sticky from date dust and last night, I blew my nose and everything that came out was brown.  Being healthy is, like, hard.
  • I’m back on coffee.  I realized I still don’t want hot coffee, but I’ve been drinking a lot of iced coffee.  I make a pot of coffee twice as strong as usual, then refrigerate it.  Then I prepare it with half and half, a little bit of organic sugar and a drop or so of almond extract.  Yum.  The perfect iced almond latte.
  • So coffee is back, but meat and gluten are gone from my diet.  Gluten is gone for good–it is definitely the source of my headaches!!  I even got a headache after eating the communion wafer at Easter!
  • Matthew calls artificial colors “fishy fishy colors”.  Which is kind of right.
  • One of the ladies in my water aerobics class did the sweetest thing for me last week.  She bought me a thank you card and wrote me such a nice note, thanking me for being so encouraging to her.  She included a gift card to my favorite grocery store!  That really made my week.  I always say that God puts the most awesome people in my classes.  I love my job!
  • I just read a book called “Divergent“.  It was for a book club that I recently joined.  It is kind of Hunger Games-esque.  You know–strong teen girl, dytopian society, romance.  I thought it was just okay though.
  • Tomorrow, we have kindergarten registration for both boys!  I’m not really ready to talk about it.  Not because I’m sad–I’m really not.  Mostly because all anybody ever says to me is “WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO???” like I suddenly have to have a grand new plan for my life.  And mostly, I’m just ready to take a deep breath and make myself a hot breakfast.
  • That’s all for now.  I think I have more to say, but I’d rather just watch “The New Adventures of Old Christine” and drink an almond latte.
 

7 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. 12450miles Says:

    Lots of great tidbits. Perfect for my “lounge on the couch” break that seems to be longer than expected…

  2. Tiffany Says:

    I pinned that recipe last week! I can’t wait to try it now that someone I know has actually recommended it.

  3. Jenny Says:

    I def. need to do WISE up, let me know what you think of it.

    I can’t believe you’re making your own sugar, wow!

    I was just talking to my friend the other day about how I have no plans to change my um “career” once I have all the kids in school, but it is so true that everyone assumes you suddenly have to make a big change. My the time Chloe is in school I will have had children for almost 10 years, so trust me I will have plenty to do, it’ll have been 10 years since I completed a sentence or got anything done :)!

    xox

    ps-trying to take the kids off of artificial colors and just realized they’re in their vitamins, do you use vitamins if so which ones?

  4. Yvonne Says:

    Well, I hope you keep blogging because really, that’s what it’s all about, right? I have been asked a number of times lately if I will be returning to work now that i will have two in school next year. Ummm, no. I like what I’ve got going people and really, making food takes a lot of time!

    And in terms of communion – our church offers GF wafers which is what I take. Makes a difference!

    And I’m checking out the powerbook – thanks for the link.

  5. Renee Says:

    Love, love, love New Christine. Or Old Christine. Whatever! I too will have both kids in school full-time in the fall. And the only thing I am going to “do” different is take some me time, a few naps & paint nearly every room in the house. I know it sounds awful, but I can’t wait!! Enjoy your time!

  6. LOL I finished Divergent yesterday! I did like it but I thought it was very rushed at the end and not as well written as the Hunger Games. I think the next book is due out in a week. I think I will read it anyway 🙂 The other bit of your post that got me interested was the spaghetti squash. I have seen a few recipes on Pinterest using this vegetable but do you think I can find it in Australia??

  7. mlewis597 Says:

    Yes, I’ve gotten the whole “what are you going to dooooooo?” when people realize that Rory is going to school next year. As if cooking, cleaning, laundry, shuttling the kids back and forth, being a supportive wife, etc. is nothing.

    And I’m sad you didn’t like Divurgent. I actually LOVED it after being very non-committal and letting it sit on my nightstand for nearly 9 months before picking it up to read.


Leave a Reply

