Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Husband and Kid-Approved Healthy Muffins….oh, and gluten-free! May 7, 2012

Filed under: food! — Elizabeth @ 12:17 PM

Muffins are a constant around here.  The kids seem to love them, no matter the ingredients (we like to use pumpkin, butternut squash, bananas and other things), they are a healthy breakfast, snack, lunch (I put them in Matthew’s lunchbox instead of a sandwich because he is gluten free), and sometimes even dinner–last Friday night we had these muffins, homemade hash browns and locally made bacon.

They were the first thing I knew I had to learn to make gluten-free because I love them too.  I’ve been fiddling with this recipe and I think it’s pretty good now.  The kids are gobbling them up as we speak:

Yummy Molasses Muffins

1 single serving cup of unsweetened applesauce

1/3 cup molasses

1 cup plain yogurt

3/4 cup ground flax

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1-2 tsp grated orange zest

1 cup chopped dates

1/3 cup local honey or pure maple syrup

1/3 cup oat bran

2/3 cup + 1/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose GF flour

3/4 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Blend the first 9 ingredients together.  Then in another bowl, mix the dry ingredients.  Blend the wet and dry ingredients together and then transfer to greased muffin cups.  I used coconut oil for this–I am very new to this oil.  As a matter of fact, that was the first time I used it for anything!!

So there you have it, these are pretty much ALL ingredients that I feel pretty darn good about, especially when they are organic, which the applesauce, flax and yogurt were.  And when everybody in the house happily gobbles them up, I feel even better about them.

PS–if you want to make them, but you don’t have to go gluten-free, just use 2/3 cup + 1/4 cup of whatever flour you choose, and omit the xanthan gum.

Enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Husband and Kid-Approved Healthy Muffins….oh, and gluten-free!”

  1. How fitting that you just posted this recipe! I was at my naturopath this afternoon and she is recommending that I go gluten& dairy free for the duration of my pregnancy, based on my issues. Could I substitute the yogurt with a non-dairy yogurt?

  2. I made these this afternoon and substituted pumpkin for the yogurt, as you suggested. They turned out great and are so tasty! Can’t wait to have them in my lunch tomorrow at school! Thanks!!

  3. Can you eat Polenta in your house? I just saw this gluten free polenta orange cake and thought of you: http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2012/05/recipe_gluten-free_orange_pole.html


Leave a Reply

