Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

2 AM Affirmations June 2, 2012

Filed under: everyday life,Isaac,mama of boys — Elizabeth @ 10:54 PM

Last night, at about 2 AM, I was awakened by something.  I sat up and listened, confused.  95% of the time, Matthew is the child who needs me at night.  I wake up to crying, coughing, night terrors, or even just him having a party in his room in the middle of the night.  But this wasn’t any of that.  And then I heard it again.

“Mommy?”

It was Isaac.  I ran into his room, worried that he was sick, bracing myself for vomit.

“I had a bad dream.  There was a lion.  He ated me.”

“I’m sorry, buddy”, I said as I stroked his hair, the realization that I really needed to pee beginning to set in.  “It was just a dream”.  Oh yeah, I really needed to pee.

“He was in our house,” he pleaded, needing me to understand just how traumatic the dream was.

“Oh no, that WAS very scary,” I said, and I started to feel a large amount of snot make its way down my nasal passage.  (did I mention I have a nasty, nasty cold?)  “You’re okay, I promise,” I said and began to make my way out of his room.

“Can you lay down with me?”

He almost never asks me that.

And I know that as the days and weeks and years go by, these requests will be even more rare.

He asks so little of me. 

So I ignore my bladder and hope that if I get horizontal, it will halt the descending snot globule.  (Shockingly, it does.)

I lie there with him quietly for a few minutes and then kiss him.

“I’m going to go back to my bed now, goose.  I love you.”  I halfway expect a protest but there is none.  I climb out of bed and hear again,

“Mommy?”

“Yes, buddy?”

Somehow in the dark, our eyes are able to meet and he said–

“you’re a really good mom”.

Oh Goosie, you just make it so easy.  I love you.

 

 

6 Responses to “2 AM Affirmations”

  1. Juliet Says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. Talk about a tug at the heart strings. Love your post.

  2. deb jacobs Says:

    ohhhhh, that boy xoxoxo

  3. Mom Says:

    Beautiful!
    I’m glad you’re writing all this down.

  4. That is so sweet. Seize the moments when they come!

  5. Thank you for sharing this.It is just precious.I love seeing how the Lord is working in your life and in the individual lives of your boys.God bless you and your family.:)

  6. Melissa Says:

    I love, love moments like that. Especially since they’re not nearly as frequent as I would like the older they get.


Leave a Reply

