Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Summer September 10, 2012

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 9:53 AM

  • Let’s just pretend that I haven’t been absent for about 3 months, shall we?  I’m starting to feel like I forgot how to blog.  Let’s see if I remember…..
  • Isaac makes up all sorts of sayings–here are a few that I heard over the summer:  Neat as a tweet, Fast as a bird, Be as still as a turned off robot, As fast as a raccoon getting in a garbage can.
  • This summer, Jason got shingles on his forehead.  But before we knew what it was, one night during dinner, we were discussing what the rash might be.  Jason thought it was a zit at first.  Matthew suggested that it might be poison ivy (good guess!), but Isaac said, “Matthew, it can’t be poison ivy–poison ivy has 3 leaves!”.
  • One morning, during breakfast, Isaac started telling me that he wanted to hear a song.  He couldn’t think of what the song was called, so he said, “it’s the one where they say give me some flour, I am your neighbor!”.  Which cracked me up because he meant “Hey Ya”, and the line is actually “Lend me some sugar, I am your neighbor”.  At least he got the gist.
  • The boys went to VBS this year, and they loved it.  One afternoon, they were telling me about what they learned.  They had talked about Jesus dying on the cross.  Matthew made it a point to tell me that the bad guys put a crown of “horns” on his head.
  • We bought an inflatable pool for the backyard this summer.  One day the boys were playing in it, and Isaac slipped and fell into the water.  He jumped straight up and said, “don’t worry!  I did not baptize!!”.
  • One day, my friend, Rusty, brought over some large hornworms that he had found in his garden.  We were going to keep them and watch them cocoon and turn into moths.  I picked the boys up from VBS and told them that Rusty had brought over a surprise–an animal.  I wanted them to guess what it was.  Matthew’s first guess was a fish.  No, I said, he found it in his garden.  Guess again.  Oh, Matthew said, a pufferfish!!
  • The VBS that the boys went to gave them special t-shirts on the first day.  The shirts were big on both boys, but especially so on Matthew.  His shirt came down past his knees and fell off one shoulder, Flashdance-style.  So clearly, he didn’t want to wear his t-shirt every day.  So when I went to pick them up one day, they were very easy to find.  In a sea of turquoise t-shirts, my kid was the one in the gray Pink Floyd shirt.
  • At lunch one day, Matthew had gotten a hold of 2 toothpicks and was pretending they were oars and that he was rowing a boat.  So Isaac began to sing “Row, row, row your boat”.  Here’s how it went:  “Row, row, row your boat, gently down the stream.  Mary, Mary, Mary, Mary……Oh wait, I mean, Matthew, Matthew, Matthew, Matthew, life is but a dream”.
  • We always tell Matthew that we are forever.  One day when I was emphasizing this point, I asked him if he knew what forever meant.  He just stared at me for a while and then finally said….”stuck?”.  Yep kid, I laughed, you are stuck with us.  FOREVER.
  • Our pediatric dentist has a nautical theme to their office.  It’s really awesome–the waiting room has a boat and a lighthouse.  So as we were walking in the door the other day, Isaac yelled, “get ready to sail the South Seas!!!”.  Then we went in and Isaac was pretending to be the captain on the boat.  They asked me if I wanted to join them on the boat, and I said yes.  Matthew pointed to a seat with quite a flourish and said, “have a seat, Mr. Madam”.
  • The week before kindergarten, we did a lot of practicing for school.  Getting up early and getting dressed.  Packing lunches and eating out of the lunchbox.  Isaac really wanted to do schoolwork too, so the first thing I had do was to write their names and ages at the top of a piece of paper.  This is what Isaac wrote:
    when I asked him what that said, he responded Five and 3 Quarters!
 

5 Responses to “Whatnot Summer”

  1. hardingswing Says:

    The 5 and 3/4 made me laugh out loud! So cute.

  2. Jenny Says:

    so glad to read your randomness, I miss your blog and your funny! stories. Jack has a shirt like that, but he likes to wear it, and unfortunately it only makes him look even smaller 🙂

  3. Luciana Says:

    This has made me laugh so much. Oh, and you still got it. 😉

  4. aunt chris Says:

    So glad youre back…those kids are a riot. Glad you have preserved their oh-so-funny sayiings.

  5. Melissa Says:

    Hurray! You’re back!

    The baptize/pool story made me laugh so hard. He and Rory are on the opposite end of the spectrum because she is ALL about the pool baptisms.


Leave a Reply

