Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Musings on the Easter Bunny November 25, 2012

Filed under: everyday life,Isaac,the holidays,traditions,we so crazy — Elizabeth @ 10:02 AM

Yesterday, my sister and I took our boys to see “Rise of the Guardians”, a kid’s movie that involves the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, the Tooth Fairy, and the Sandman.  These fellas are the good guys who protect and love children worldwide and they, with the help of Jack Frost, team up against the Boogeyman, whose goal is to keep the children from believing in these heroes and keep them living in a state of fear.

It was actually a delightful movie–the kids and I all loved it, but I knew that it would bring up some questions.  And sure enough, before the movie was over, Isaac leaned over to me and asked, “Is the Easter bunny really real?”.

Just for some background info here, we are a Santa family.  We do the Easter bunny and the tooth fairy, and the Elf on the Shelf.  We are also a Jesus family.  And while we teach the true meanings and cause for celebration behind the holidays, we also embrace the whimsical/playful sides of the holidays.

**As a side note, I know that Santa can be a “hot topic” for some people.  However you celebrate at your house, I am sure you have put much thought into it, and I am happy for you.  This post is meant only to make you chuckle, not to begin a debate on Jesus vs. Santa.  Cause at my house, we have our cake and eat it too.**

For a little more background, I do not feel comfortable with over-selling the Santa/Easter bunny/tooth fairy stories.  So when the doubts start to creep in, our plan is to let the kids make their own decisions, instead of working tirelessly to convince them of the “realness” of these characters.

So when Isaac asked me about the Easter bunny, I will say that I was disappointed.  Because I didn’t feel comfortable just flat out telling him that, of course the Easter Bunny is real.  So I told him we would talk about it after the movie, and hoped he would forget.

We got into the van and started over to my aunt’s house for a visit, and Isaac announced from the backseat that he had a Very! Important! Question!.

And here’s how it went down:

I need to know if the Easter Bunny is really real.

Well….what do you think?  Do you think he’s real?

No.

Why not?

Because how could a bunny go all over the world and bring Easter eggs?  A real bunny couldn’t do that!

Hmmmm, that would be tricky for a real bunny.  Well then, who do you think brings the eggs?

{Mind you, that during all this, Matthew is arguing loudly that indeed, a real bunny could do that.  A very, very big bunny.}

Well, I think that it’s someone dressed up like a bunny.

Who do you think would get dressed up like a bunny and do all that?

Probably….Santa Claus!

Ah, the faith of a child.  I went on to explain that it did seem doubtful that a real bunny could do all that.  I also told him that I had never seen the Easter Bunny, but that to me it was fun to believe in him, because I liked the idea of him.

Either way, it looks like we have a believer on our hands for at least one more year!

Here’s wishing you a holiday full of excitement, whimsy, reverence and belief.

And especially that Santa remembers to take off his bunny suit before he comes down your chimney!!!

 

9 Responses to “Musings on the Easter Bunny”

  1. kimbelina Says:

    That’s hilariously awesome. Gotta love kid logic. We don’t do Santa (I want credit for finding the perfect gifts, darn it!) but this year Leah is obsessed with him. I don’t think she fully understands the concept of Santa but she loves the sparkly castle in the mall.

  2. Barbara Says:

    I love this post! I think you directed his question perfectly.

  3. aunt chris Says:

    Kids are just too much fun….and the holidays seem to amp it up a notch!

  4. Jenny Says:

    Love it!! We’ll have to check out the movie I hadn’t even heard of it. I hope you had a great thanksgiving.

  5. Yvonne Says:

    love it!

  6. Melissa Says:

    So, so funny!

    And I’m glad to hear the movie was good. Hoping to take the kiddos, although, honestly, only if it’s still around during Christmas break. 😉

  7. christine Says:

    This is such a great post! I love the “very, very big bunny.” comment! 🙂

  8. Casa Bicicleta Says:

    I love how you let him lead the way with the conversation rather than trying to “tell” him what is what. His answer was so sweet.
    I wish we could go see that movie but my DD is petrified of anything with even a whiff of scary to it. We saw the trailer and she said N-O. *sigh* I don’t get to see any kid movies any more. 😦

  9. This is awesome! Glad to hear you still have a believer on your hand. So fun!


Leave a Reply

