Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

A Bulgogi Sandwich August 11, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 10:04 AM

One thing I’ve noticed about the difference between a school morning and a weekend morning is the willingness of the kids to get up.  On school mornings, they lay in bed moaning, telling me they are too tired to move.  Whereas, on weekend mornings, I am awakened from a sound sleep by footsteps running into my room at 6:15 on the dot. A kitten is tossed haphazardly at my head because she is hungry and therefore I should attend to her, and there are excited requests to play Mario.

This school year, I’ve made it a point to try to wake up with enough time to cuddle with each boy before school.  Don’t be too impressed yet, it’s only the third day of school, but so far, it’s going well.

First I go into Isaac’s room.  He’s already awake, but still very sleepy.  He is excited to see me and he immediately pulls up his covers and scoots over.  I get to take over the warm pocket in his bed.  We wrap our arms around each other and he presses his face into mine.

Did you have a good rest? I ask.

yes he says.

I tell him about a dream I had.  I was in a maze and it was dark and scary.

I would have helped you find your way out, mama.  I’m good at seeing in the dark.

I lost my flashlight in the dream.

I would have found it for you.  I would have carried it and we wouldn’t have lost it.

My sweet goose.

My sweet mom.

We continue to cuddle in silence for awhile.

Let me go cuddle Matthew now I say and he reluctantly lets me go.

This could go either way.  On the second day of school, Matthew told me nicely that he’d rather be alone.  He’s still asleep.  I sit down on the edge of his bed and rub his back.  He cracks his eyes and his body immediately flinches in disagreement, like an earthworm being poked with a stick.

I keep rubbing softly.  Would you like a cuddle? I whisper.

Ok.

I lay down slowly.  I dare not attempt to get under the covers.  This is a delicate operation.

I tuck my face into his neck and he lets his body press in to mine.  Our breathing starts to line up. 

And then I sense another presence.  Isaac is standing next to the bed.

Is there room for 3?

I ask Matthew if it’s ok and he says yes.  Isaac wants to be in the middle, but I tell him, this is Matthew’s cuddle, and he gets the middle.

So we all 3 lay there, on the twin bed.  Matthew entwined in 4 arms. 

I tell them we are a sandwich.  Isaac and I are the bread and Matthew is the meat.

A bulgogi sandwich.  And Matthew thinks that is the best thing ever.

Not a bad way to start a Monday.

 

 

3 Responses to “A Bulgogi Sandwich”

  1. Mom Says:

    I love this! What a great idea! Making memories and bonding.

  2. Sherry Whisenhunt Says:

    So sweet.

  3. Aunt Chris Says:

    Ahhh–wish I could be there for a double decker sandwich. Such a sweet way to start the day for all of you!!!


Leave a Reply

